Ramadan Countdown

Twenty-Five Days before Ramadan, or the 6 Shaban, 1428

ISNA sent out its decision regarding the start and end of Ramadan yesterday.

Ramadan 1428 AH:
The astronomical New Moon is on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 at 12:44 Universal Time (i.e., 8:44 am EDT, and 5:44 am PDT ). This moon is impossible to be seen anywhere on September 11. On September 12, the moon will be visible in Australia, South Africa, South America and North America (e.g., in San Diego, CA at sunset, the age is over 44 hours, and moon is setting 35 minutes after sunset). Therefore, first day of Ramadan (fasting) in North America, according to the criterion adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, is on Thursday, September 13, insha’Allah.

Eid ul-Fitr 1428 AH:
The astronomical New Moon is on Thursday, October 11, 2007, at 5:00 Universal Time (i.e., 1:00 am EDT – or October 10, 10:00 pm PDT). On October 11, the moon is visible on the southwest coast of South America, which is east of North America. (e.g., in Santiago, Chile at sunset, the age is about 18 hours, and moon is setting 40 minutes after sunset). According to visibility anywhere in the world, the criterion adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America, Eid ul-Fitr in North America is on Friday, October 12, insha’Allah.

InshaAllah I’ll be counting down with reflections and updates on my preparation, and later I’ll be reflecting daily.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: